CERN Accelerating science

This website is no longer maintained. Its content may be obsolete. Please visit http://home.cern/ for current CERN information.

CERN home pageCERN home pageDocuments by ReferenceDocuments by ReferenceCNLsCNLsYear 2001Year 2001Help, Info about this page
Previous:Editorial
Next:Announcements
 (See printing version)



If you need Help

FRONT LINE Services
Phone Location E-mail Address
Computing Help Desk 78888 513/R-052 Helpdesk@cern.ch
Opening hours: 8:30-17:30 (Monday-Friday)
Satellite Helpdesk 78888 52/1-004 Helpdesk@cern.ch
Opening hours: 8:00-12:00 (Monday-Friday)
Administrative Applications (EDH, BHT, etc.) 79933 5/R-021 Ais.Support@cern.ch
Opening hours: 8.30-12:30 and 13:30-17.30
Central Computer Operators 75011 513/R-049 Computer.Operations@cern.ch
(24/24 hours on call)
General Network Operational Problems 74927 Network.Support@cern.ch
 
Contacts at CERN
The "Computing Help Desk" is the recommended call center for help on all computer-related issues. Following is a non-exhaustive list of individual people responsible or assigned to a given service. If you do not find a pointer to the service you need, then contact the "Computing Help Desk" for submitting your request. For all the services listed below please use the generic electronic mail address whenever possible. These mailboxes will be read even when the usual specialist is absent. It is helpful to use relevant keywords in the subject field of your message. Contact specialists directly only for very urgent cases or for very general consultations. Please note:
Service Definition Name E-mail Address
USER SERVICES
User Relations and Service Manager L.Pregernig Ludwig.Pregernig@cern.ch
Help Desk Managers R.Woolnough User.Relations@cern.ch
N. Crémel User.Relations@cern.ch
User Registration User.Registration@cern.ch
Computing Bookshop J.Megies Bookshop@cern.ch
CENTRAL SERVICES
Public Services (PLUS batch&interactive services and CSF/PCSF Simulation farms)
See the complete and up-to-date list of contacts at URL:
http://cern.ch/it/pdp/is/main/experiments.html#PUBSERV
SHIFT (Reconstruction & Analysis Clusters) T.Smith Tim.Smith@cern.ch
CORE Operations M.Vergari Mario.Vergari@cern.ch
Work Group Servers T.Smith Tim.Smith@cern.ch
Distributed File Services (incl. AFS) Afs.Support@cern.ch
NAP and Parallel Applications E.Mcintosh Eric.Mcintosh@cern.ch
Stager, tapes and TMS support Tape.Support@cern.ch
Central Data Recording (CDR) Cdr.Support@cern.ch
CASTOR HSM software Castor.Support@cern.ch
HPSS Services Hpss.Support@cern.ch
CERN-wide Print Service J.L.Vosdey Printer.Support@cern.ch
Support for Experiments
See the complete and up-to-date list of contacts at URL:
http://cern.ch/it/pdp/is/main/experiments.html
DESKTOP COMPUTING
NICE (Networked PCs) F.Hemmer Nice.Support@cern.ch
PC Desktop (Repairs and Sales) C.Ball PC.Admin@cern.ch
MACintosh Support F. Ovett Mac.Support@cern.ch
MACintosh Sales W.Hug Waltraud.Hug@cern.ch
X Terminals Support Xterminal.Support@cern.ch
ASIS Support Asis.Support@cern.ch
Operating System Support:
HP 700 s/w: Hp.Support@cern.ch SUN s/w: Sun.Support@cern.ch
Solaris s/w: Solaris.Support@cern.ch RS/6000 s/w: Aix.Support@cern.ch
Digital Unix s/w: Dunix.Support@cern.ch Linux: Linux.Support@cern.ch
SCIENTIFIC APPLICATIONS & SOFTWARE ENGINEERING
CERN Program Library L.Besson Heplib.Support@cern.ch
PAW Support O.Couet Paw.Support@cern.ch
Anaphe and GEANT Heplib.Support@cern.ch
Oracle Databases N.Segura Oracle.Support@cern.ch
Objectivity DB Service Objectivity.Support@cern.ch
Software Development Tools SDT.Support@cern.ch
Adobe FrameMaker Docsys.Support@cern.ch
PaRC Service (Engineering Cluster): for each application use the e-mail address
as given from URL:
http://cern.ch/it/ce/support_index.html
COMPUTING FOR ENGINEERING (*)
(*) Activities are now in PS group, and the web site will migrate.
All comments, problem reports, and suggestions can be reported via the "Feedback" Web form
accessible from the IT-CE Home page (link "Feedback" on the left).
COMMUNICATIONS AND NETWORKS
The complete and up-to-date list of contacts is in the "Communications Systems Group" Home page,
at URL: http://network.cern.ch
INTERNET SERVICES
Web Services Www.Support@cern.ch
Mail Support Mail.Support@cern.ch
In addition to this generic address, the normal support lines are listed at URL:
http://consult.cern.ch/service/mail/problems/contacts.html
COMPUTER SECURITY
Computer Security Information Computer.Security@cern.ch
Security Alert Reports cert@cern.ch

Some Useful Web Pages
TvScreen (Systems Status) http://tvscreen.cern.ch
Network Connection Request Form http://network.cern.ch/register
Remote/Mobile Computing http://network.cern.ch/mobile
User-Oriented Catalogue http://cern.ch/consult
User-Oriented Service Directory (*) http://cern.ch/services
FrameMaker Support http://cern.ch/docsys/framemaker/
Text Processing related documentation http://cern.ch/it/asdoc/textproc.html
IT Home Page http://cern.ch/it
User Support http://cern.ch/it/support
NICE Home Page http://nicewww.cern.ch/
PC Hardware http://pcwww.cern.ch/
PC Farms Homepage http://cern.ch/it/pdp/pc/
CASTOR Query Report http://wwwinfo.cern.ch/htbin/pdp/castor/castor_report.pl
Software Development Tools http://cern.ch/sdt
Computing Support for Engineering http://cern.ch/it/ce
Joint Controls Project (LHC Experiments) http://itcowww.cern.ch/ITCO/jcop/
Web Services http://cern.ch/WebServices

(*) Useful service entry points at this page include the Computing Helpdesk, User Registration, Computing Bookshop, Mail, Netscape, Listbox, etc.


Other Newsletters
Administrative Information Services: CERN/AS AIS Newsletter
Contact AIS.Newsletter@cern.ch

Seminars and Presentations
Designation Usual Location Organizer(s) Div. Telephone E-mail Address
Computing Colloquia Auditorium / bldg 500 S.Jarp IT 74944 Sverre.Jarp@cern.ch
Computing Seminars IT Auditorium 31/3-005 J.Blake IT 74893 Computing.Seminar@cern.ch
Technical Presentations IT Auditorium 31/3-005 S.Cannon IT 75036 Stanley.Cannon@cern.ch

Computer Resources Allocation and Divisional Contacts

COMPUTER RESOURCES ALLOCATION COMMITTEE (COCOTIME):

Chairman: H.Hoffmann/DG 60/5-006 75458 Hans.Falk.Hoffmann@cern.ch
Secretary: H.Meinhard/IT 1/1-028 76031 Helge.Meinhard@cern.ch

DIVISIONAL REPRESENTATIVES FOR COMPUTING
For questions about new registration and resource allocation please ask the contact person for your division.

Div. Repres. Div. Repres. Div. Repres. Div. Repres. Div. Repres.
AS AT P. Heymans IT ETT M. Draper FI C. Saitta
EST Ch. Delamare HR M. Buttner EP A. Bjorkebo PS A. Riche SL M. Bornand
ST E. Sanchez-Corral TH E.Gianolio TIS G.R. Stevenson
 
NICE Divisional Representatives
See URL: http://nicewww.cern.ch/homepage/nicerepr.htm

DIVISIONAL REPRESENTATIVES FOR NETWORKING
For questions about new installations, testing, local coordination, etc., please ask the contact person for your division (or, if you are an experimental physicist, the networking contact person within your experimental group).
The complete and up-to-date list of contacts is given in the "Communications Systems Group" Home page, at URL: http://network.cern.ch


CERN-CNL-2001-003
Vol. XXXVI, issue no 3


Last Updated on Fri Dec 07 14:18:27 CET 2001.
Copyright © CERN 2001 -- European Organization for Nuclear Research