CERN Accelerating science

This website is no longer maintained. Its content may be obsolete. Please visit http://home.cern/ for current CERN information.

next up previous
Next: Letters from/to the Editor Up: CNL 223 Previous: Editorial

If you need Help

IF YOU NEED HELP (Contacts at CERN)
Service Name Address Telephone E-mail Address
USER CONSULTANCY OFFICE (UCO)513/R-052 4952 user.support@cern.ch
Opening hours: Monday 10:00-12:30 and 13:30-17:00, Tuesday-Friday 9.00-12:30 and 13:30-17.00
All aspects Miguel Marquina 513/1-017 4912 user.support@cern.ch
Accounting Service Attila Koppanyi 513/1-019 4933 user.support@cern.ch
User Registration M.C.Perler 513/1-017 5004 user.support@cern.ch
Consultancy Office R.Woolnough 513/1-020 9156 user.support@cern.ch
Computer Book Selling Service M.Franceschi 513/1-022 2371 user.support@cern.ch
CENTRAL COMPUTER OPERATIONS (24 HOURS)513/R-066 5011 operator@cernvm
All aspects & IBM David Underhill 513/R-035 4920 d.underhill@cern.ch
Central VAXes Tim Whibley 513/R-033 4849 t.whibley@cern.ch
CERNSP Harry Renshall 513/1-016 2377 h.renshall@cern.ch
CS-2 Eric Mcintosh 31/3-023 4934,13+5584 e.mcintosh@cern.ch
CORE services - CSF Vincent Doré 513/R-031 2397,13+3830 csf.support@cern.ch
CORE services - SHIFT Gordon Lee 513/1-020 4974 g.lee@cern.ch
PaRC service Pietro Martucci 31/S-022 8611,13+5553 parcsp@parcb.cern.ch
PIAF service Thomas Petterson 513/R-036 4919 t.pettersson@cern.ch
CERN PROGRAM LIBRARY OFFICE
All aspects Jamie Shiers 513/1-002 4928 cernlib@cern.ch
SP2, RS-6000 (AIX), VMS Jamie Shiers 513/1-002 4928 cernlib@cern.ch
HP/UX, SGI, SHIFT, CSF Gunter Folger 513/1-003 5010 cernlib@cern.ch
DECstation, Sun Ian Mclaren 513/1-003 5010 cernlib@cern.ch
Distribution of CERNlib material Lysiane Besson 513/1-014 4951 cernlib@cern.ch
OTHER SERVICES
Desktop Computing Chris Jones 31/2-020 4884 chris.jones@cern.ch
User Migration Task Force Miguel Marquina 513/1-017 4912 user.support@cern.ch
NICE (Novell coordination) David Foster 31/1-009 2663/13+5631 nice.support@cern.ch
Central VMS Service Manager Judy Richards 31/R-009 4983 j.richards@cern.ch
Oracle Sergio Santiago 31/3-011 4134,13+5580 oracle.support@cern.ch
Computer Security John Gamble 31/3-030 160261 cert@cern.ch
Distributed Printing Jean-Louis Vosdey 513/R-049 5011 printer.support@cern.ch
Networks Alasdair Ross 513/R-034 4927 netops@cern.ch
Vault & Cartridge operations R.P. Minchin 513/R-009 13+5559 ric.minchin@cern.ch
Tape Allocation to Experiments Hansjorg Klein 13/3-024 2124,2060 hans.klein@cern.ch
Computer Science Library, mornings only Jutta Megies 513/1-024 2379 j.megies@cern.ch

SERVICE URLs ()

Service URL Location
User Migration Task Force http://consult.cern.ch/umtf/
Accounting Service http://consult.cern.ch/accounting
User Registration http://consult.cern.ch/uco/registration.html
Consultancy Office http://consult.cern.ch/uco/
Computer Documentation Office http://consult.cern.ch/uco/cobs/

ONLINE COMPUTING: See ``ONLINE'', the Newsletter of Data acquisition and Computing for Experiments,
Available from Anne Perrelle 31/1-003 2406 a.perrelle@cern.ch
COMPUTING FOR ENGINEERING: See the CERN Computing Support for Engineering Newsletter,
Available from Monique Tate-Lavergne 513/2-010 2863 m.tate@cern.ch
COMPUTER RESOURCES ALLOCATION COMMITTEE (COCOTIME):
Chairman: L.Foa/DG 4/1-048 8126 lorenzo.foa@cern.ch
Secretary: A.E.Ball/ECP 14/6-023 3849 alan.ball@cern.ch

UNIX Workstations and X Terminals Support (List of Contact Accounts)

Name Address Telephone E-mail Address
Team Leader Alan Silverman 31-1-030 4955 workstation.support@cern.ch
Front Desk Christiane Ball 31-1-015 3349 workstation.frontdesk@cern.ch

Service E-mail Address Service E-mail Address Service E-mail Address
SUN software sun.support@cern.ch HP 700 s/w hp.support@cern.ch AFS afs.support@cern.ch
DEC's OSF/1 s/w osf.support@cern.ch SGI software sgi.support@cern.ch Printers printer.support@cern.ch
RS/6000 s/w aix.support@cern.ch Solaris s/w solaris.support@cern.ch
ULTRIX s/w ultrix.support@cern.ch X terminals xterminal.support@cern.ch

COMMUNICATIONS AND NETWORKS

Please use generic electronic mail addresses whenever possible. These mailboxes will be read even when the usual specialist is absent. It is helpful to use relevant keywords in the subject field of your message. Contact specialists directly only for very urgent cases or for very general consultations.

The complete and up-to-date list of contacts is here

SEMINARS AND PRESENTATIONS
Designation Location Organizer Div. Telephone E-mail Address
Computing Colloquia Auditorium / bldg 500 Sverre Jarp CN 4944 s.jarp@cern.ch
Computing Seminars CN Auditorium 31/3-005 Gunter Folger CN 5010 g.folger@cern.ch
Jean-Pierre Porte ECP 3457 j.pierre.porte@cern.ch
Technical Presentations CN Auditorium 31/3-005 Stanley Cannon CN 5036 stan.cannon@cern.ch

DIVISIONAL REPRESENTATIVES FOR COMPUTING
Div.RepresentativeDiv.RepresentativeDiv.RepresentativeDiv.Representative
ASM. Draper ATP. Heymans CNA. Koppanyi DSUM. Draper
ECPA. Grant FIM. Saitta MTCh. Delamare PED. Duret
PPEH. Klein PSJ. Riche SLA. Hilaire STE. Sanchez-Corral
THR. Sommer TISG.R. Stevenson
DIVISIONAL REPRESENTATIVES FOR NETWORKING (http://wwwcs.cern.ch/wwwcs/public/divreps.html)
Div.RepresentativeDiv.RepresentativeDiv.RepresentativeDiv.Representative
ASM. Moller ATR. Saban DSUM. Moller ECPJ.-P. Porte
FIM. Saitta MTC. Andrews PED. Duret PPEE. Pagiola
PSI. Deloose SLP. Lienard STP. Ciriani THR. Sommer
TISB. Moy


next up previous
Next: Letters from/to the Editor Up: CNL 223 Previous: Editorial

Michel Goossens
CN Division
Tel. 3363
Wed June 1 18:00 MET 1996